On Thanks, Thankfulness, and Thanksgiving

It’s become quite the apropos trend on social media in recent memory to post every day something in your life for which you are thankful during the days up to November.  I’m not a fan of social media these days, preferring to spend my time writing here and spending time actually being sociable with a closer group of people in real life.  However, as this is a day for which we give thanks, I will release my twenty-seven things for which I am thankful here.

1. I am thankful for a wife who has supported me, loved me, and kept me in check throughout two years of marriage.

2. I am thankful for a healthy, beautiful baby girl in my life that gives me a reason to get out of bed every single morning.  (Seriously, she wakes me up at 5 AM these days)

3. I am thankful to be working in the profession for which I feel I was destined, going on five years.

4. I am thankful for my colleagues at Wevorce and to be working with a group of like minded professionals in mediation who truly believe in bringing down the divorce machine and helping families find a sane, humane way to transition from married to single life.

5. I am thankful for my comedy family at Scruffy City Comedy and the relationships I’ve developed there.

6. I’m thankful there’s places in my city where I can engage in the therapeutic practice of making people laugh and laugh myself.

7. I’m thankful for having met both my favorite band and my favorite pro wrestler in the last month.

8. I’m thankful for the rule of law, despite how messed up the American system of jurisprudence may seem at times.

9. I’m thankful for a country in which I can speak my mind and speak to whom I please without wondering whether such a practice will cause a bullet to meet the back of my skull.

10. I’m thankful for being a stubborn SOB who refuses to take no for an answer, because it’s gotten me a lot of places in my life.

11. I’m thankful for sticking to my guns for four years worth of practice and never compromising my convictions, no matter how much people want me to do otherwise.

12. I’m thankful that blasted myasthenia gravis went into remission and I don’t have to take medication that makes me sick every single morning.

13. I’m thankful for in-laws and family members I can celebrate the holidays with who won’t drive me to drink over family theatrics.

14. I’m thankful for those who have recently entered my life, welcomed me in with open arms, and treated me as brothers, despite barely knowing me.  You know who you are.

15. I’m thankful for every life experience I’ve had, both positive and negative.  They’ve made me the man I am today, and I wouldn’t change a bit of it.

16. I’m thankful for getting the chance to meet Justice Sotomayor and Justice Ginsburg this year.

17. I’m thankful to have my health, because I’m mindful there’s people out there who don’t have even a fraction of what I have.

18. I’m thankful for my country’s government–as flawed as it may be, it’s still the best thing going.

19. I’m thankful for learning better in the last year how to listen more and speak less.

20. I’m thankful for podcasts, because I can’t stand most radio stations. Between Steve Austin, Chris Jericho, Colt Cabana, Jim Ross, and Serial, I quit SiriusXM and never looked back.

21. I’m thankful for finding good books to read almost every month, and being able to re-read the good ones whenever I so choose.

23. I’m thankful for being able to give back when I can, because there’s people who need it and I’m constantly reminded of how blessed I am when I stop thinking about myself and see others.

24. I’m thankful for God, because his forgiveness and work plays a crucial role in how I act and live my life.

25. I’m thankful for the ability to fight my battles every single day and to truly epitomize the term “Voice of the Voiceless.”

26. I’m thankful for cultivating a love of learning, because those with a head full of knowledge are never alone or bored.

27. I’m thankful for those who have trusted me to help them in the past and who will trust me to help them in the future.  Every time I see or hear those I’ve touched in a meaningful way, it reminds me of why I do what I do.

Have a great day, folks.  Your regularly scheduled dose of meditation and vitriol will resume tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

