The End Is The Beginning Is The End…2014’s Last Post

And here we are, at the end of 2014.

It’s been an up and down year here, and it’s been one that focused a lot of time and energy away from the various people who matter most in my life.  It’s seen me learn how to redirect my negative energies into positive outlets, branch further into my true passion of alternative dispute resolution, and focus more on my long-form writing than in previous years.

Many people run their “year end” and “year beginning” mentalities with the same self-destructive cycle.  They start with “new year, new me, new life,” then move to “this year sucked, I can’t wait for the next” at the end of the 365-day calendar cycle.  Not this year, and not with me.  I’ve learned a lot from my mistakes, and I wouldn’t change a thing.  The times when missteps nearly cost me my health gave me a motivation to return stronger and smarter than before.

Shoot, I even have an office again.  That’s pretty cool.

Tonight will be an evening without revelry.  It will be a time of peace and reflection.  It will be spent with my daughter and my wife, and it will most likely involve several episodes of “Portlandia,” “Cutthroat Kitchen,” and “Archer.”  I will probably be in bed asleep by the time the ball drops on Times Square in New York City.

For those of you who are out tonight partying or enjoying the New Year, please make sure that you either don’t drink or drink responsibly.  If you choose to imbibe alcohol or other substances, know the Tennessee Highway Patrol has checkpoints set up all over the state.  Local Police and Sheriff’s Departments will be in on the action, and actively monitor area bars and clubs for intoxicated revelers.  Get a designated driver, and know your limitations.  If you feel as though you are even remotely buzzed, talk to a bartender or server and ask for them to call you a taxi.

If you have no other options, this New Year’s Eve AAA is offering their “Tow 2 Go” service to individuals who need a ride home. It is last resort option, and based on AAA driver availability, but it will get you, a friend, and your car home if necessary.  The number for Tow 2 Go is 855-286-9246 or 855-2-TOW-2-GO.

Full listings of sobriety checkpoints for the State of Tennessee’s Judicial Districts can be located here. 

Be safe tonight.   This is one night of the year when hiring an attorney for a DUI or criminal defense matter can be completely preventable.

See you in 2015.

Leave a Reply

